Rules of Attraction

You know, I’ve been reading a lot of Bret Easton Ellis lately because I’m going to see him talk and whatnot in August, and I have to say that he’s really, really good. I am quite impressed that he somehow wrote a book and got it published by the age of 21, and it wasn’t even crap. The thing I admire most about him, though, is his writing’s accesibility. Especially in ‘Less than Zero’, he doesn’t really use a lot of large, hard to understand words placed in there to show off the extent of the writer’s vocabulary; instead, it’s generally just written in a speaking style, as if an average person were retelling the story, which is integral as often it is an ordinary person, and not a writer.

3 responses to “Rules of Attraction

  1. Jordan Corrigan

    American psycho is actually a really good but quite difficult to read. I spent half the time loving the book and the other half worrying that maybe i had some form of latent mental illness that would lead me to eventually take joy in skinning animals or something. But its the violence that gives the satiric content its impact so it’s there for a reason and not just violence for violence sakes. You should definitely read it.

  2. Have you read American Psycho? Is it good?
    I bought it a month or two ago but haven’t got around to reading it because of the damn HSC.

    • I have not read it, however, a few of my friends have and they say it’s genuinely disturbing, really grotesque and nihilistic stuff.

Leave a Reply

